The Award

The Cankar Award, a tribute to the great Slovenian writer Ivan Cankar (1876–1918), is awarded annually for the best original literary work of the past year, published as an individual book in Slovenian language. The award-winning work can be from any area of Cankar’s creative opus (a poetry collection, a novel, a drama, a collection of short stories or essays). 

The award was established in September 2019 by the Slovenian PEN Centre, the Slovenian Academy of Sciences and Arts (SAZU), The University of Ljubljana, and the Research Centre of the Slovenian Academy of Sciences and Arts (ZRC SAZU). It is awarded in spring – close to the artist’s birthday (May 10).

The donator of the Cankar Award is the Municipality of Vrhnika.


Award Winners

Cankar Award 2021

Gašper Kralj: Škrbine. Ljubljana: *cf, 2020.

Cankar Award 2020

Sebastijan Pregelj: V Elvisovi sobi. Novo mesto: Založba Goga, 2019.

The Board and the Jury

During the first term of office (2019–2024) the implementation of the Cankar Award will be managed by the Board composed of five members – representatives of the co-founding institutions:

The members of the Jury for 2020-2021 are (in alphabetical order):

  • Niko Grafenauer
  • Alenka Koron
  • Darja Pavlič
  • Alja Predan
  • Ivan Verč (President)

Former Jury members: Matej Bogataj, Ana Geršak